Lohardaga ST Reserved Assembly Constituency in Jharkhand is out to elect its MLA in by poll on Monday.The results will be announced on December 17.

The contest is high-pitched triangular between the ruling BJP’s ally All Jharkhand Students Union,Congress and the Jharkhand Vikas Morcha.The Opposition Jharkhand Mukti Morcha has not put up its candidate.

All top leaders of these parties including Jharkhand Chief Minister Raghubar Das have campaigned to mobilise votes in support of their respective candidates.

As many as 35 companies of the central security forces were deployed to maintain law and order and conduct peaceful polling.


Total number of electorate was 2,18,595.Among them 11,34,427 were male and 10,6,168 were female.

*Total number of candidates in the fray are nine.

* Among 272 polling booths,62 were identified as ‘General’ evenas 73 were ‘Sensitive’ and ‘137 most sensitive.’


*Lohardaga Assembly by poll was necessitāted by the conviction of the ruling BJP’s ally All Jharkhand Students Union’s MLA Kamal Kishore Bhagat in an attempt to murder case.

*While Bhagat is in jail,he and his party AJSU have put up his wife Neeru Shanti Bhagat.The ruling BJP is backing her.

*The Congress has put up its candidate Sukhdeo Bhagat who was defeated by AJSU’s Kamal Kishore Bhagat in November-December 2014.

*The Jharkhand Vikas Morcha has put up Bandhu Tirkey,ex Independent MLA.

*The contest is undserstood to be triangular between Neera,Sukhdeo and Bandhu.


must read