The election campaign for the Ramgarh Assembly by-poll h ended on Saturday with contestants Congress and AJSU leaving no stone unturned to win. 

The electoral battle is mainly between Mahagatbhandhan led by Jharkhand  CM Hemant Soren and NDA comprising  BJP- AJSU. The seat had fallen vacant after Congress candidate Mamta Devi had won this seat only to vacate it after she was convicted in a case of violence registered in 2016.

Notably, in the 2019 assembly election when BJP was not AJSU’s ally, Congress’ Mamta Devi had defeated AJSU’s Sunit Choudhary with a margin of 28,718 votes.

This time BJP is backing AJSU candidate Sunita Choudhary. The Congress has put up Bajrang Kumar Mahto who is being backed by JMM, JD(U).

The by-poll is slated to be held on February 27.


must read