Prime Minister Narendra Modi will continue with his campaign schedule in two of a total 14 constituencies - Lohardaga (Schedule Tribe Reserve) and Palamau( Schedule Caste Reserve) in Jharkhand. 

The first election rally is slated to be held at Sisai in Lohardaga,comprising 5 Assembly segments including Mandar, Sisai, Gumla, Bishunpur, and Lohardaga. The BJP, and the Congress are the main parties in the constituency. 

In the 2019 Lok Sabha Elections, Sudarshan Bhagat from BJP won the seat with a margin of 10,363 votes. Sudarshan Bhagat was polled 371,595 votes with a vote share of 45.00 % and defeated Sukhdeo Bhagat from INC who got 361,232 votes (44.14 %). 

In the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections, Sudarshan Bhagat from BJP won the seat and was polled 226,666 votes with a vote share of 34.78%. INC candidate Rameshwar Oraon got 220,177 votes (33.79 %) and was the runner-up. Sudarshan Bhagat had defeated Rameshwar Oraon by a margin of 6,489 votes. 

Second, PM Modi’s election rally is scheduled to be held in Palamau, an LS constituency consisting of six assembly segments -Daltonganj, Bhawanathpur, Chhatarpur (SC), Garhwa, Bishrampur and Hussainabad. 

BJP's Vishnu Dayal Ram was the sitting MP in Palamu who had defeated RJD's Manoj Kumar by a margin of more than 2.5 lakh votes in 2014. 

In 2019, Bishnu Deo Tam retained the Palamau (SC) seat, defeating his nearest RJD rival Ghuran Ram by 4,75,284 votes. Jharkhand and Bihar. In Jharkhand, he will address public rallies at 11 am in Palamu and 12:45 pm in Lohardaga. 

The party has fielded sitting MP Vishnu Dayal Ram again from Palamu, while Rajya Sabha MP Samir Oraon is contesting from the Lohardaga seat, replacing its sitting MP Sudarshan Bhagat. These two seats alongside Singhbhum and Khunti go to polls in the fourth phase on May 13. 

At a ‘Maha Vijay Sankalp Sabha’ at the Tata College Ground in Chaibasa, the PM on Friday again said that the Congress would allegedly distribute property should it come to power.

“The Congress wants to distribute your property to those indulging in ‘vote jihad’ but Modi will ensure that the poor, Dalit and tribals have the first right on the country’s property. No force on earth would be allowed to change or alter our Constitution,” he said. 

After the two rallies in Jharkhand, the PM will be in Bihar for a public rally in Darbhanga at 3:30 pm. The BJP’s Gopalji Thakur who had won the seat in 2019 is contesting again.


must read