*Image credit ANI News

The High Level Committee (HLC),headed by Union Home Minister,Amit Shah, has approved additional Central assistance under the National Disaster Response Fund (NDRF) to five States.

These five states -Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Odisha, Telangana and Uttar Pradesh -were affected by floods/ landslides during South-West monsoon 2020 and hailstorms during Rabi 2019-20.

The HLC has approved additional Central assistance of Rs. 1,751.05 crore to these five States from the National Disaster Response Fund (NDRF).

Top For floods/ landslides during South-West monsoon-2020, Rs. 437.15 crore to Assam, Rs. 75.86 crore to Arunachal Pradesh, Rs. 320.94 crore to Odisha, Rs. 245.96 crore to Telangana and Rs. 386.06 crore to Uttar Pradesh have been approved.

For hailstorm during Rabi 2019-20, Rs. 285.08 crore to Uttar Pradesh has been approved.

 In all the five States, the Central Government had deputed Inter-Ministerial Central Teams (IMCTs) immediately after the calamities, without waiting for the receipt of a Memorandum from the affected State Governments.

In addition, during the financial year 2020-21, till date, the Central Government has released Rs. 19,036.43 crore to 28States from the SDRF and Rs. 4,409.71 crore to 11 States from NDRF.

must read