Who will succeed Neeraj Sinha as the Director General of Police in Jharkhand? This question has raised speculation in the corridors of power.

Nobody knows the choice of the ruling dispensation in the state under command of the CM Hemant Soren.The guessing- game is on.

The facts are as follows:-

Sinha’s extended tenure ends on February 11, 2023. Prior to he is given a farewell by the cops in the state, the state government led by Chief Minister Hemant Soren has to select and notify his successor.

The Union Public Service Commission has sent a list of three IPS officers of the Jharkhand cadre to the state government to appoint one as its DGP. These names are Ajay Bhatnagar, Ajay Kumar Singh, and Anil Palta.

Bhatnagar, a 1989 batch IPS officer, is Joint Direction, CBI, in New Delhi. Singh, who is also from the 1989 batch, is an Additional DGP and Chief of the Anti-Corruption Bureau of the state government. Palta, 1990 batch, is Director General, Railways in Jharkhand. 

Bhatnagar was placed in CBI in the national capital by the central government. Palta who is known to have kept a low profile rarely ever made it to the news for the wrong reasons, and was always considered an “upright officer” with a “ clean image.”

Against their background, Ajay Kumar Singh who maintains an “ amiable image” can be preferred by the JMM- Congress- RJD coalition government led by CM Soren.

Another reason in favour of Singh to succeed Sinha as DGP in this state is that he has two years left to continue to lead the state in the forthcoming General Elections in 2024. 

-----------------------------Advertisement------------------------------------Abua Awas Yojna 

must read