*A still from the film Endless Borders which bagged Golden Peacock at IFFI

As the sun sets over the Arabian Sea, casting a golden glow upon the picturesque coast of Panaji here, the 54th edition of the International Film Festival of India also concludes, reverberating the shores with echoes of cinematic excellence and charm. The festival reached its crescendo with a dazzling closing ceremony, attended by a constellation of celebrities, filmmakers and luminaries from the film and entertainment domain.

Persian Film Endless Borders bags Golden Peacock for the Best Film

The Persian film Endless Borders directed by Abbas Amini received the Golden Peacock award for the Best Film at the 54th IFFI.  The film depicts that the emotional and moral borders that you impose upon yourself can be more complicated than the physical borders, observed the jury.

In Photo: Eli Skorcheva and Rozalya Abgaryan actresses of Blaga's Lessons receiving the Silver Peacock award for Best Director on behalf of Stephan Komandarev.

Bulgarian Director Stephan Komandarev gets Silver Peacock for Best Director 

Bulgarian Director Stephan Komandarev is honoured with Silver Peacock for Best Director for his film Blaga’s Lessons.Stephan Komandarev tells a powerful and shocking lesson through the character of a woman who has to decide to achieve her goals and in doing so compromise her values, reads the Jury’s citation. Eli Skorcheva and Rozalya Abgaryan actresses of Blaga's Lessons received the award on behalf of Stephan Komandarev. Goa Chief Minister Pramod Sawant, Turkish Director Nury Ceylan, Australian Film Producer Helen Leake and Film Actress Esha Gupta presented the coveted prize. 

In Photo: Pouria Rahimi Sam’s still in the movie  Endless Borders

Pouria Rahimi Sam bestowed with Silver Peacock Award for Best Actor (Male)

Iranian Actor Pouria Rahimi Sam has been chosen as the Best Actor for his role in the Persian film Endless Borders, directed by Abbas Amini. The Jury has chosen the actor “for the richness of acting and interacting with his partners, children and adults in challenging shooting conditions.”

Melanie Thierry bags Silver Peacock for Best Actor (Female) 


French actress, Melanie Thierry is honoured with Silver Peacock for Best Actor (Female) for her exemplary role in the film Party of Fools. The jury remarked that the range of expressions by the actress gives audience with subtlety all the emotions from hope to despair, encountered in her character’s crazy journey. Juliette Grandmont of Institut Francais received the award from Goa Chief Minister Pramod Sawant, Film Producer Jerome Paillard and Playback singer and film score composer Hariharan on behalf of Melanie Thierry.

In Photo: Kannada Film Maker Rishabh Shetty receiving The Special Jury Award for Kantara

Indian Filmmaker Rishabh Shetty bags The Special Jury Award

Indian Filmmaker Rishabh Shetty has bagged The Special Jury Award for his critically acclaimed film Kantara. The Jury praised the director’s ability to put across a very important story. “The film, though rooted in its own culture of the forest demons, reaches out to audiences regardless of culture and social status,” the jury cited. Goa Chief Minister Pramod Sawant, Spanish Cinematographer José Luis Alcaine and French Film Producer & IFFI Jury member Catherine Dussart presented the award.

Reger Azad Kaya receives Award for Best Debut Feature Film of a Director 


Reger Azad Kaya, a promising filmmaker from Syrian Arab Republic, has received the Award for Best Debut Feature Film of a Director for his film When the Seedlings Grow. The jury cited that the film narrates a tale which succeeds in showing us a day in the life of a father, daughter and a lost boy through a succession of small events. 

In Photo: A still from the movie Drift

Drift by Anthony Chen bags ICFT-UNESCO Gandhi Medal 

French, British and Greek co-production Drift directed by Anthony Chen received the prestigious ICFT-UNESCO Gandhi Medal. The film which portrays how drifting through life's uncertainties can lead to unexpected bonds draws the lines of hope and resilience observed the selection Jury. 

In Photo: Hollywood actor and producer Michael Douglas receiving Satyajit Ray Lifetime Achievement Award

Satyajit Ray Lifetime Achievement Award presented to Hollywood actor/producer Michael Douglas

Legendary Hollywood actor and producer Michael Douglas received the prestigious Satyajit Ray Lifetime Achievement Award at the closing ceremony. Receiving the award, Michael Douglas said, “It’s a tremendous honor to receive this award, a career life achievement. When I heard about the award, my family and I were elated.”

must read