Bringing relief to him, the Supreme Court today rejected the challenge to the election of Congress leader Dhiraj Prasad Sahu as a Rajya Sabha MP from Jharkhand in 2018.

The top court dismissed the BJP candidate's appeal. The BJP candidate, who had lost the poll from the state, had challenged the verdict of the Jharkhand High Court which had rejected the plea against Sahu’s election.

A bench headed by Chief Justice S A Bobde said the vote cast by then MLA Amit Kumar Mahto, who was convicted by a trial court on the date of voting for the Rajya Sabha poll on March 23, 2018, was valid.


must read