*Neelam with teammates

New Delhi, 8 July: Hockey India on Friday named a 39-member core group for the Junior Women's National Coaching camp, scheduled to take place from 8th July to 14th August at SAI, Bengaluru. 

The camp is to fine-tune the preparations for the Junior World Cup, scheduled to take place from 29 November to 10 December in Santiago, Chile.the camp, will be held under newly appointed coach, former India captain Tushar Khandker, 

The Team is high on confidence as they clinched the Junior Asia Cup last month in Japan by defeating Korea 2-1 in a thrilling final. This was India's first title win in this tournament.  

The Indian team not only won the title but also secured direct qualification for the  World Cup 2023, further cementing their position as the top contenders from Asia.  

Speaking about the team's return to the camp and training under his guidance, Khandker said, "Our focus now is to build upon the team's recent success and achieve even greater heights at our next major tournaments, especially the prestigious Junior World Cup, which is just a few months away. The training camp will serve as a crucial platform for the team to fine-tune their strategies, sharpen their techniques, and foster even stronger team dynamics"" 

"Also, we will emphasize the importance of discipline, teamwork, and mental fortitude, instilling in them the values necessary to excel at the highest level of the game." He added

The core-group;  Kurmapu Ramya, Madhuri Kindo, Neelam, Mahima Tete, Mamita Oram, Nishi Yadav, Manju Chorsiya, Kajal Bara, Kshetrimayum Sonia Devi, Hina Bano, Hritika Singh, Jyothi Edula, Jyoti Singh, Ashwini Kolekar, Priyanka Yadav, Nikita Toppo, Anisha Sahu, Taranpreet Kaur, Mudugula Bhavani, Deepika Soreng, Chandana J, Kajal Sadashiv Atpadkar, Dipi Monika Toppo, Rutuja Dadaso Pisal, Preeti, Annu, Yogita, Aditi Maheswari, Bhumiksha Sahu, Nirupama, Ritanya Sahu, Munmuni Das, Anjali Barwa, Sakshi Rana, Puja Sahoo, Khushboo Khan, Manashri Narendra Shedage, Sujata Kujur, Ropni Kumari. 




Odisha (India's Best Kept Secret) – Major Team Partner    

Sports Authority of India (SAI)    

Shiv Naresh    




HOCKEY INDIA (HI) is the governing body with an exclusive mandate to direct and conduct all activities for both men's and women's hockey in India. It is recognized by the Ministry of Youth Affairs & Sports, Govt. of India as the sole body responsible for promoting Hockey in India.

Headquartered in New Delhi, Hockey India was established on 20th May, 2009 and is affiliated to the International Hockey Federation (FIH), the Indian Olympic Association (IOA) and Asian Hockey Federation (AHF).

Committed to the development of Hockey in the country, Hockey India with the assistance of Sports Authority of India and Department of Sports, Government of India, trains players at sub-junior, junior and senior level. The governing body engages in Coaching the coaches with International Standard certification programs, educates and equips technical officials and umpires to find a foothold in international arena, provides world-class infrastructure and International exposure for the players besides regular international competition. Hockey India has also pioneered in bringing top International hockey events to India such as the FIH Men's World Cup in 2010 and 2018, FIH Champions Trophy in 2014, FIH Junior Men's World Cup in 2016 and 2021, FIH Hockey World League Final in 2017. With its vision to popularize the game and constantly promote it, Hockey India brought the Indian Men's Hockey Team into the top three in the world. Hockey India is also dedicated to getting the Indian Women's Hockey Team into the top three in the world.       

Follow us on: 

www.hockeyindia.org | Twitter: @TheHockeyIndia | Facebook:  Hockey India | Instagram: hockeyindia            

About ODISHA     

Odisha - the Eastern State of India - is known for its love for Hockey and over the years it has evolved to be the Global Hub of Hockey. The State successfully hosted the Odisha Hockey Men's World Cup Bhubaneswar 2018, followed by the FIH Men's Series Finals Bhubaneswar Odisha, FIH Olympic Qualifiers Odisha, and FIH Hockey Pro League 2020-21. Odisha has previously hosted the Champions Trophy 2014 and the Odisha Men's Hockey World League Final Bhubaneswar 2017. Odisha also hosted the FIH Men's Hockey Junior World Cup in 2021.

Kalinga Lancers, the team owned by the State, were the winners in the Hockey India League 2017. Taking a step further towards realising the dream of restoring the glory of Indian Hockey at the global level, the State is sponsoring the Indian Hockey Teams till 2033.

Odisha also hosted the FIH Odisha Hockey Men’s World Cup 2023.

Follow us on:




must read