The much-anticipated dates for the conduct of the Assembly election in Jharkhand have finally been announced. 

Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora announced on Friday that the state will have a 5-phase poll, beginning from November 30. Counting of votes will take place on December 23.

While the date of polling for the first phase is November 30, the second phase polling will take place on December 7. The third, fourth and fifth phases of polling will take place on December 12, 16 and 19, respectively.

In 2014, while the BJP won 37 seats had formed the government along with its ally All Jharkhand Students Union (AJSU) which had won five seats.

This time too, Chief Minister Raghubar Das-led BJP is hoping to retain power in the state.


must read