The process of filing nominations for four parliamentary seats in Jharkhand in the second phase of the Lok Sabha elections began today.  

These four seats are Subghbhun, Khunti, Lohardaga and Palamau. Three of these four seats - Singhbhum, Khunti, and Lohardaga- are Scheduled Tribe seats whereas Palamau is reserved for scheduled caste.  

These four are among 88 parliamentary seats across 12 States in the second phase of the Lok Sabha elections where polling will take place on May 13. The candidates can file nominations till April 25.

As per the schedule notified by the Election Commission, nomination documents will be verified on April 26. Nomination can be withdrawn till April 29. The poll of the second phase across the country including Jharkhand will be held on May 13. 

Fifteen Assembly segments in the Outer Manipur Lok Sabha constituency will go to the polls in the first phase on April 19. Thirteen Assembly segments of the constituency will go to the polls on April 26. 

The States and Union Territories going to the polls in the second phase are Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Jammu and Kashmir, Karnataka, Kerala, Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Tripura, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal, apart from one part of the Outer Manipur seat.


must read