India's first Regional Rapid Train Service began operation beginning today on a 17-kilometre stretch -Delhi-Ghaziabad-Meerut Regional Rapid Transit System (RRTS). 

PM Narendra Modi dedicated to the nation the Delhi-Meerut RRTS in Ghaziabad. As per the plan, the complete corridor of the RRTS will be functional by 2025. 

Uttar Pradesh chief minister Yogi Adityanath on October 12 had inspected the Sahibabad station of the Regional Rapid Transit System (RRTS) project ahead of the opening. 


Consider these facts about the RRTS: 

This high-speed regional rail service will help commuters travel from Delhi to Meerut in just 60 minutes. 

1. The RRTS is developed by the National Capital Region Transport Corporation (NCRTC), a joint venture of the Government of India and the governments of Delhi, Haryana, Rajasthan and Uttar Pradesh. Established as a result of a memorandum of understanding between the Centre and the four states on June 29, 2011, NCRTC was formally incorporated as a company on August 21, 2013. 

2. In 2019, the construction of the Delhi-Ghaziabad-Meerut RRTS corridor began. The first look of the RRTS train was unveiled a year later. 

3. According to a document shared by the NCRTC, the RRTS is different from the Metro rail. It has an operational speed of 160 kilometers per hour against the Metro's speed of 80 kph. While a Metro train will take three hours to complete a 100 kilometers journey, an RRTS will traverse that distance in just an hour. 

4. The Delhi-Ghaziabad-Meerut Corridor is the first RRTS project being implemented in India and will be closely followed by the Delhi-Gurugram-SNB-Alwar and Delhi-Panipat corridors. 

5. The total length of the Delhi-Meerut corridor is 82 kilometres which will be covered in just an hour. It comprises 24 stations. 

The first phase covering 17 kilometres will cover five stations- Sahibabad, Ghaziabad, Guldhar, Duhai and the Duhai Depot.

must read